Hovering Over Toilets: Powerful Reason to Retire Early

Get Lost Blue
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readNov 14, 2023

--

Image sourced from Canva

Sometimes, the most unexpected places can trigger life-altering revelations. In my case, it happened in a small Peruvian town at the foot of the majestic Andes mountains, while I was hovering over a toilet. Yep, you read that right — hovering over a toilet inspired me to quit my job and retire early.

Doing the Math

A rather simple math problem popped into my head. I thought of the numerous mountains I yearned to hike, divided by my allotted vacation days.

Image sourced from Canva

The reality dawned upon me that, even if I miraculously never got sick and skipped all family holidays, I would still only manage, at most, two substantial trips each year. Considering my ever-growing list of dream hikes, scattered across the globe, this projected a disheartening 15 to 20-year timeline. Ugh.

Additionally, I considered the toll on my knees from hiking and bathroom…

--

--

Get Lost Blue
ILLUMINATION

I'm a personal finance warrior. I write about living a truly prosperous life, encouraging freedom and adventure. And I get lost...come get lost with me!