How a little Syrian orphan changed my whole life

Harun Reşit Aydin
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readJul 6, 2020

--

Photo by Siddhant Soni on Unsplash

Years ago, I judged this world and life as useless and gave it no meaning.

How should I?

It had taken away everything I loved from me and returned only pain, suffering, and tears.

But then, one day, things changed.

It was the first time I started looking after refugee children. Every Friday there was a visit from the brothers to the orphanage (that’s what we were called) to the children we individually looked after.

My little one was called Rezah, 9 years old, and had lost his whole family in the war and some criminals had brought him here to beg for them. Luckily, the police then rescued him and took to the orphanage.

Every Friday I came back with a new book, read it to him, and when he could tell me the story back, I gave him chocolate as a gift.

On this one Friday, I read another story about the value of brotherhood and sharing between people. After he told me the story back exactly, I grabbed my hand to my bag to get out chocolate.

Just then, he held my hand and said,

Photo by Liane Metzler on Unsplash

--

--

Harun Reşit Aydin
ILLUMINATION

Ex Nato-Officer. Economist. Advertisement Professional. Brand Consulting. Politic and Strategy Analyst. 83 countries visited. Turkey-India Expert. Storyteller.