How anger made my life Miserable

Nuwan Bandaranayaka
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readApr 15, 2023

--

Image Credit: Evelyn Chong (https://www.pexels.com)

On my typical day, I can find many reasons to be angry at something. On the one hand, I engage with many customers daily. Like any sample, there are several arrogant customers ( I’m still getting angry when I remember those conversations), several annoying ones, some clueless people, and finally, good guys. On other hand, I had to engage with some crazy people at my office.

I got really mad when people wanted to show themselves that they were far superior to me, far more intelligent than me, and tried to become pandits regarding subjects I engage in daily life. Do you know what I’m doing on such occasions? I argue with them with all my rage (It depends on the person) and show them how wrong they are, replying to their emails with blazing replies and complaining to management. I am literary showed them their place.

What I was getting from this was pure joy. to become superior to another person. It's a pretty intoxicating feeling. It's addictive. Wow. It was amazing.

Wait, what?????

Actually, was it an incredible feeling? Yeah, for several minutes. But then, here comes the sad part. I may have won the argument, but I have lost a customer, maybe I have damaged the dignity of a person, or maybe I have lost a friend. All this time, I was the person who was being arrogant and ignorant. It was me who depicted pure narcissism. It was me acting like a jerk.

Then I begin to be angry with myself, self-criticism. I was wowed to become a better man from that moment onward. I promised myself I would control my anger and be a completely different person from that moment onwards.

Wow, It's a great feeling, too. Self-actualization is an intoxicating feeling. And it's damn addictive. Again comes the amazement.

This same thing happens to me every day—the same routine.

The same routine. But then, one day, I stumbled upon a simple yet powerful quote:

“Holding onto anger is like drinking poison and expecting the other person to die.”

It hit me like a ton of bricks.

I realized that my daily anger episodes only harmed me in the long run. I was poisoning my relationships, career, and, most importantly, mental health. It was time for a change.

So, I took a step back and started working on myself. I practiced mindfulness, and meditation and even sought therapy to help me understand and manage my anger. Slowly, the transformation began. I learned to let go of my anger, communicate more effectively, and focus on building bridges instead of burning them.

The journey wasn’t easy, and it took time. But as I continued to grow and evolve, I noticed that my life improved. My relationships improved, my career took off, and I found a newfound inner peace and happiness.

Ultimately, I realized that anger doesn’t have to make our lives miserable. We have the power to change and control our emotions. By letting go of anger and embracing a more compassionate, understanding approach, we can create a brighter, more fulfilling future for ourselves and those around us.

--

--