How Box Breathing Restores Your Focus and Reduces Anxiety

A three-minute routine that has a lasting impact.

Kyle Chastain
ILLUMINATION

--

The average person takes four hundred million breaths by age fifty. That’s roughly twenty thousand breaths per day.

While you probably didn’t give much attention to your breathing until the outbreak of a lung-attacking virus this year, it does more than just keep you alive.

What you might not realize is your body isn’t drawing in enough energy when you don’t breathe deep into your diaphragm. Because most breaths are taken unconsciously, you probably don’t put much thought into breathing. That’s right, you might be ignoring an essential bodily function.

Until you become more aware of your breathing habits throughout the day, you’ll likely continue to feel sluggish, anxious, and unfocused. Why? Because shallow breathing leaves stale air in your lungs which increases toxicity in your body.

When I started working in a customer-facing retail job in 2018, I experienced anxiety like never before. The environment was fast-paced, and I had to deal with demanding customers.

The job required a lot of attention to detail while handling large amounts of cash. When I felt stressed, my breathing was shallow and my anxiety was high. I needed something to…

--

--

Kyle Chastain
ILLUMINATION

On a mission to become a better writer and storyteller | Building my "Insight" newsletter to 10k+ | Create the life you want: https://chastain.substack.com/