How Can the Beatles’ Music Improve Your Memory?

Researchers encourage listening to your favorite Beatles songs.

Gary McBrine
ILLUMINATION

--

Beatles album and 45 record with green cover
Photo by Nick Fewings on Unsplash

I love the Beatles.

When I was young, my older sisters had an awesome music collection. The Jackson 5, Diana Ross and the Supremes (anything Motown), and of course, the Beatles. I’m grateful to have grown up listening to that music.

I remember playing Beatles music in my imagination while walking to school. That was before iPhones or even Sony Walkmans. Walking to school, I would click my teeth together like a drummer to the beat of “A Hard Day’s Night.” Those were special memories.

Researchers have recently discovered that hearing those old Beatles songs can bring back long-forgotten memories and improve our memory. How?

Let’s examine the research to see how the Beatles' music can improve our memories.

The Science Behind the Beatles’ Music and Memory

Studies have shown that music can stimulate the brain’s hippocampus, which is responsible for memory formation and retrieval.

The hippocampus is a small structure located deep within the brain’s temporal lobe, and it plays a vital role in forming long-term memories.

--

--

Gary McBrine
ILLUMINATION

Writer, Photographer, Musician, Creative, Teacher. Always trying to see outside the box. Top writer in Photography, Art. Twitter @GaryMcBrine