To Be Successful You Need Luck And An Authentic Story

Cardi B’s strategy: a case study for starving artists

Sylene "SylJoe" Joseph
ILLUMINATION

--

Purchased Under Standard License From Shutterstock | Image ID: 1373208311

People value an authentic story. Or rather, they value an unapologetic storyteller. It doesn’t matter what’s said, or how it’s told. This is why Donald Trump was elected president of the United States in 2016. Why comedians, despite their uncensored jokes, will never be muted. And the reason social media personalities like Cardi B flourish.

I don’t share the same hysterical fondness that other millennials have for Cardi B. But that’s what makes her the best case study.

The definition of success is a relative one. But…we can narrow it down to: monetary wealth and recognition in your field.

I’ll admit, I bopped to Cardi B’s single, “Bodak Yellow,” in the summer of 2017. Yet, I don’t clamor to read articles the rapper is featured in, seldom like social media posts about her and don’t follow her on any social platform. My indifference stems from my cultural roots and strict religious upbringing.

For context: I was raised in a conservative Christian household with limited exposure to music and urban culture. While I’m actively working to broaden my interests, they’ve always been narrow.

--

--