How ‘Copywriters’ Destroy the Creators' Economy

God'sgift Oghale Amos
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readJun 4, 2024
Photo by Domino Studio on Unsplash

Note: When I say “Copy Writers”, all I mean are content writers who copy,paste and sometimes refine other people’s written work without their permission!

Before we start, have you ever seen your writing or work on someone else's blog or website? What was your reaction? I'm not a big fan of copywriters. I believe in originality to an extent, and I don't feel bad about being original in my writing (work) too. Besides, taking someone's work isn't bad; it means the work was great. I like my work or any content on the internet bearing my name to have one thing: ORIGINAL, UNIQUE, AND RENDER VALUE WITH NEW PERSPECTIVE!

To be truthful, I used to copy people's work and refine it to make it mine. I didn't mind about the origin of the work or the pains the author took to write and produce it. All I cared about was that I liked it, so I took it, and it gave me audience, money, and fame. Many more I can say, and you know what I'm talking about. But one thing is disturbing: taking people's work without their permission is bad. Refining people's work without their permission is wrong.

It took me years to understand this concept when a friend of mine (in a Facebook community) saw his work on a popular blog, although refined to some extent. He was not happy about it, seeing his hard work taken from him, making money for another person who wasn't the rightful owner. It was sad! What he did was take all his work down and only allow people who pay for it to access it.

I don't get it; the web is supposed to be a knowledge-sharing platform with emerging ideas building on old ones, right? Let's take, for example, Google anything on health-related topics, money-related topics, SEO topics, Affiliate-related topics, etc, and see what will happen. If you look carefully and read through each blog carefully, you will understand what I mean. Sometimes I wonder what these copywriters think of before doing this. This isn't fair!

This action and attitude of copywriters have brought so many duplicates of information on the web. I thought the internet should be a place where people freely express themselves without hurting one another. Their ideas should be unique and bring new perspectives to every information, citing and referencing one another. Isn't that giving credit where it's due? If you're a copywriter doing this, regardless of who you are or what you are, remember one thing: your actions destroy the creators' economy! It destroys people's trust and facts about specific information.

I believe this is one of the reasons people believe information on the web is misleading. Because how can one piece of information be in so many blogs all at once without difference? Remember, even if you use the best tools to refine or rewrite an article, a good and careful reader will know you copied it and somehow will trace the origin of that work. I know it when a write-up is not the owner's work.

--

--

God'sgift Oghale Amos
ILLUMINATION

I am a simple "Parent Expert Doctor"...to me is all about Parenting+Family+Life+Tech+Children+Philosophy+Entrepreneur(ship)....+God!