How Coronavirus Changed My Life

It takes time to be normal

Suraj Panigrahy
ILLUMINATION
2 min readOct 7, 2020

--

At first, the coronavirus didn’t really catch my attention. As a 21-year-old who lived on the opposite side of the planet from where it had appeared, I felt terrible about the lives that were being lost and therefore the challenges people were having to measure through but I wasn’t concerned about my safety. But not an excessive amount of time passed until it announced the primary cases in Mumbai, My city.

Now I used to be overwhelmed with all the changes that were happening. A late night in March, we were notified by the news channel that colleges would be closed until a later date.

Just like that everything started changing and therefore the fear grew larger. I kept thinking the worst. What if something happened to my parents, or grandma, or my friends?

The shops were closed, nothing was open. Now we were officially on quarantine. Everything appeared like a nightmare I used to cannot awaken from.

What made it even worse was the exaggerating and fake news people kept spreading everywhere on social media.

We started online classes in the upcoming days. I Can not complain. I used to be happy they would not leave me behind on my classes, but it wasn’t an equivalent not having the ability to be with my friends physically.

Overall I had an honest time with my family. It had been nice to possess everyone gathering around the table again with only one another to speak to.

I am lucky I and my loved ones are safe, and I’m grateful for all the hardworking first responders that sacrificed such a lot to assist us during this hard time.

I liked my life before the virus more. But it is not bad now either.

--

--

Suraj Panigrahy
ILLUMINATION

I'm love to talk about Tech, Gaming and so many other topics to my family, friends like you. So join me in my journey and we gonna learn something new everyday.