How counting can help achieve your New Year goals

It trains your mind to remember your goal.

Miguel A. Calles · Serverless CISO
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Priscilla Du Preez 🇨🇦 on Unsplash

It’s a new year; we might have new goals or continue with previous ones. It’s amazing how using simple techniques significantly impacts achieving our goals. By counting, we remind ourselves about our goal, and it gives us a measure of how well we are doing. But for it to be effective, we need to choose the right thing to count. Let’s explore some examples.

Weight loss

I used to be extremely obese. I decided I wanted to change that. I was weighing myself every day, but the weight did not change. I was measuring but not counting.

I chose to count calories. I used a calorie counting app to learn how many calories I had to eat to maintain my current weight. It was over 3,000 calories per day. I set a goal to be slightly under that number.

Every I chose to count calories. Although I missed my goal most days, I became more conscious over time about how the foods I ate would affect my calorie count.

Read a more detailed story here:

--

--

Miguel A. Calles · Serverless CISO
ILLUMINATION

Author of Mastering AWS Serverless · AWS Community Builder · Specializing in CMMC, SOC 2, serverless & engineering.