How do I maintain my full-time job with my studies?

Rudra Sharma
ILLUMINATION
Published in
5 min readApr 16, 2023

In case you don’t know about me, I am Rudra, and I am 17 years old and currently pursuing my senior secondary education (12th grade). I am a proud homeschooler, and yes, I don’t go to school. Now, a basic thought will be that “if he doesn’t go to school, then probably he would have a lot of time.” That is kind of right, but I utilize my time a lot because I am currently doing a full-time job, an internship, working out like hell in the gym, studying for the 12th grade (senior secondary), and also writing this article.

Becoming a Productivity Guru

At first, when I started work, I thought that I didn’t have enough productivity knowledge, or, you can say, productivity tips. But let’s be honest: no matter how many videos you watch or articles you read, you are not going to be productive. To become productive, you should start analyzing your energy levels and mental alertness.

Believe me, productivity is not about time; it is only about your mental and physical energy. If you are conscious of your energy levels and mental energy, then you will be far more productive than on any other day. Time is a finite resource, and we all have the same amount of it in a day. However, our physical and mental energy can vary significantly from one person to another.

Physical energy refers to your ability to complete physical tasks throughout the day, such as exercising, cooking, or cleaning. This energy is influenced by factors such as your diet, exercise routine, and sleep quality.

Mental energy, on the other hand, refers to your ability to focus, think critically, and make decisions. This energy is influenced by factors such as stress levels, sleep quality, and mental health.

Caffeine is my best friend.

Many people are like “You should not take caffeine; it is not good for your health”. If you don’t have any health issues that can be affected by caffeine, then you may not need it. Especially if you work long hours like I do (15–18 hours a day), you may notice a drop in productivity towards the end of the day. At the beginning of the day, you may have good focus, but as the day progresses, you might experience difficulty concentrating, feel sleepy, and display lazy behaviors. While it’s possible to work efficiently under these conditions, it’s often beneficial to consume caffeine to boost your energy levels and stay productive for the remainder of the day. Especially if you hit the gym after work.

Studying at home

Caffeine stimulates the central nervous system, which can improve cognitive functions such as memory, attention, and reaction time. It can also help reduce the effects of fatigue and sleepiness, which can negatively impact productivity. Moreover, caffeine has been shown to increase the levels of dopamine and norepinephrine in the brain, which are neurotransmitters associated with motivation and attention.

How a Day in My Life Looks Like

My day usually starts at 6 a.m., and the first thing I do is drink a good amount of water while making a to-do list for the day and putting it on my phone.

After that, I get to freshen up and try to meditate for a minimum of 5 minutes. Meditation is something that I have neglected for a long time, but once you start it, it gives you miraculous benefits.

After meditation, I start a study session from 7:00 to 8:00; this time is switched to writing an article if there is no test that month or that week. After that, I take a shower and make some breakfast to fuel my morning around 9:00. I have to leave for my job, and from 9:00 to 12:00 I work.

A Normal Day at Work

From 12:00 to 1:00 I get a lunch break, where I try to finish my lunch as fast as possible and try to read some books. Currently, I am reading “Courage to be Disliked.”

After lunch, I get back to work and work for 1 or 2 hours until 3 or 4 pm. After that, it is time to work on the internship. I am doing an internship in teaching, so I have to take some revision classes and invigilations in the class. This ends around 7 pm, and from there I head to the gym with good caffeine and food. I train as hard as I can and reach home at around 8:30. After taking a shower, I take one more study session from 9:30 to 11:30. From 11:30 to 12:00, if I am too tired, I sleep, or I chill on my phone and view all my messages and emails. At 12, I sleep.

Attention! This is a perfect day in my life, although more than 50% of the days in a month go like this, there are also days in which I wake up at 8 or 9 or maybe at 10 also. Also, there are days when I spend most of my time scrolling on Instagram or YouTube or watching a series. So you have to understand that you have both days in your life. On day one, you will be productive as hell, and on another day, maybe you will be spending your maximum time on your phone procrastinating. So wake up with a warrior mindset and spend your day at your best, or at least try to make it your best, and if it is not, then don’t let that day destroy your next day.

Some Tips I Want to Share to “Manage Your Energy”

Take Breaks: Taking regular breaks throughout the day can help prevent burnout and maintain focus. Take short breaks every hour or two to stretch, walk, or simply take a few deep breaths.

Fuel Your Body: Eating a balanced diet that includes healthy proteins, complex carbohydrates, and healthy fats can help maintain physical energy throughout the day.

Stay Hydrated: Dehydration can lead to fatigue and decreased mental clarity, so make sure to drink plenty of water throughout the day.

Move Your Body: Regular exercise can help boost physical and mental energy levels. Even a short walk or stretch can help reinvigorate your body and mind.

Manage Stress: Chronic stress can lead to exhaustion and decreased energy levels. Incorporate stress-reducing practices such as meditation, deep breathing, or yoga to manage stress and maintain good energy levels.

In the end, balancing a full-time job, an internship, working out, and studying in senior secondary education is difficult and tiring, but I believe that productivity is not about time but about mental and physical energy, and analyzing your energy levels to be more productive is the first step to managing things together. Additionally, I recommend using caffeine to boost energy levels, taking breaks, fueling your body with a balanced diet, staying hydrated, and getting enough sleep to maintain physical energy. My daily routine starts with making a to-do list and meditating before studying, working, and interning. I also emphasize the importance of having a warrior mindset and understanding that productivity varies from day to day.

--

--

Rudra Sharma
ILLUMINATION

5k on Twitter | I talk about toughness, self-help, masculinity, and books | ManyStories.com top writer