REMOTE WORK

How Do I Make Remote Work, Work?

Routine. It’s all about having a routine.

Samantha Scott
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readNov 4, 2021

--

Photo by Kristin Wilson on Unsplash

Routine. It’s all about having a routine.

I can’t stress the importance of this. Having a routine whilst working remotely will help you prepare for your workday and bring a sense of stability and structure to your day.

As a remote worker myself, I still stick to a routine no matter where I am. Whilst some of the smaller details may change, the overall shape of my day stays consistent.

I get up at the same time, do a quick morning stretch, wash my face and all those bathroom things, head outside for a walk (no matter what the weather) and of course coffee...I’ll either pick up a coffee on my walk or brew a coffee pot at my Airbnb before heading out for a walk (yes — I live in airbnbs, find out more here). It’s only after I’ve done all of that do I sit down at my desk to start the day.

This routine stays the same, no matter where I am.

Photo by Anete Lūsiņa on Unsplash

I’ll always step away from my desk at lunchtime and when closing my laptop at the end of the day, I’ll go for another…

--

--

Samantha Scott
ILLUMINATION

Remote work advocate | Slowmad since 2018 | Actionable tips for remote workers, nomads & those who slow travel 📸 @allthingsremote 📸