How does being “grateful” feel?

My journey to freedom, through “Gratitude”

Soupstik
ILLUMINATION
3 min readFeb 12, 2023

--

Photo by Debby Hudson on Unsplash

“When you practice gratefulness, there is a sense of respect towards others.” — Dalai Lama

Gratitude is a powerful tool that can help us to overcome the natural tendency to compare ourselves to others. In a world where “social media” and “societal pressures” can make us feel like we need to measure up to others, cultivating an attitude of gratitude helped me to break free from this cycle of comparison and find contentment in my own life.

When I compared myself to my so-called successful friends or family members, I often focused on what I lack or what others have that I don’t. This lead to feelings of inadequacy, low self-esteem, and dissatisfaction with my life. So, how did I overcome that?

Firstly, I stopped being on 2 of the most popular social media sites (not mentioning the names, but I’m sure all of you will get it). Secondly, I started practicing gratitude. When doing so, I focused on the things I already posses and the blessings in my life, rather than what was lacking. This shift in perspective helped me to feel more satisfied and content while, reducing the urge to compare to others. Gratitude also helped me to build stronger relationships and connect with others on a deeper level.

This happened because, in general, when we are grateful, we are more likely to see the good in others and appreciate their unique qualities and accomplishments, rather than feeling envious or resentful towards them. This can lead to more positive and supportive relationships, where we can encourage and lift each other up, rather than tear each other down through comparison.

On a generalized basis, gratitude has been shown to have a number of physical and mental health benefits as well. Research has shown that practicing gratitude can reduce symptoms of depression, improve sleep, and increase overall well-being (https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC8582291/).

So, how can we cultivate an attitude of gratitude in our lives?

  • One effective way to practice gratitude is to keep a gratitude journal, where you write down things you are grateful for each day. This helps to shift your focus from what you lack to what you have, and can help you to cultivate a more positive and appreciative outlook on life.
  • Another effective way to practice gratitude is to take time to reflect on your blessings each day and express gratitude for them, whether that be through prayer, meditation, or simply verbalizing your gratitude.

From my personal experience, it is inevitable to believe that by focusing on the things we have and the blessings in our lives, rather than what we lack or what others have, we can find contentment in our own lives and reduce the negative impact of comparison.

So, let us embrace the power of gratitude in our lives and find joy in the present moment, rather than constantly striving for more or comparing ourselves to others.

--

--