How Does It Feel To Be Brain Dead?

This is the toughest story I written. It was a clear struggle.

Aldric Chen
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Hernan Sanchez on Unsplash

Yes, it is the toughest indeed. It is tough not because of the content or writing. I struggle to appropriately capture the sentiments I have. I am suffering from a mental fog. I couldn’t think straight.

I also struggle to find the right words to describe them.

Yes, I am brain dead.

For some reason, I couldn’t sleep for 8 hours in one sitting. I slept. Got up. Tossed and turned. Peed. Tossed and turned again. Slept. Got up. Repeat that routine throughout the night. Then replicate for 3 nights.

The end-result? The walking dead.

If I didn’t have prior client appointments, I guess I would have buttressed myself to the sofa. Fortunately, I was able to pull myself out of bed and get up.

The entire day felt like a fleeting experience. I couldn’t feel my legs touching the ground as I floated forward. For some reason, fluorescent lights within the mall and train stations seemed brighter than usual. I felt as if I was under strong luminous assault wherever I went.

Strange things happen when we are not ourselves.

--

--

Aldric Chen
ILLUMINATION

24x Top Writer (as of June 2023). Serial eavesdropper. I capture interesting & uncomfortable real-life retirement / work-life stories the way they are.