MWC Reentry

How Falling In Love With A Single Father, Deepened My Love for My Own Father

To come back, I’ve had to leave first.

Mila
ILLUMINATION
Published in
9 min readAug 22, 2021

--

I am the youngest child in the family. I always knew how to push the limits on rules with my parents, which my older sisters were unable to. Being the youngest child has given me fewer responsibilities during my teen years and more freedom than my sisters had.

I always knew how to get away with more when it came to my dad.

My parent's marriage wasn’t a happy one, but both remained dedicated parents to me and my sisters, and even though they weren’t together happy as a couple it never stopped them from providing us with a fulfilling childhood. It made no sense why they decided to have me in their late forties.

Recently my father told me that I was “supposed to bring back the spark to their marriage, which I didn’t. But I did somehow become my father's favourite daughter. I was the only “planned” child.

My father never compared me to my sisters as my mother did, he always had a way of making me feel important and was appreciative of my differences. I was the “artist” in the family, while my sisters took serious career paths that will less likely result in homelessness, alcohol misuse, and fandom.

--

--

Mila
ILLUMINATION

Writer, Screenwriter, Role Model and just ultra-cool babe. I’m fearless. I’m a writer. I don’t quit. I use my imagination to inspire others! I know who I am!