WAR | INJUSTICE

How Faux!

Romanticizing suffering, war, injustice and crimes is an insensitive privilege and I do not condone it.

Hamna Labeeb
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min readJun 5, 2020

--

Photo by Jordy Meow on Unsplash

When home is not home,
when eyes bleed and souls still,
my verses turn into ice needles
soaked in their suffering.

How faux of us to worry,
and think that any luxury
of being able to feel
is going to help Aleppo!

How hypocritical of you
to ask me why I have no poems
to describe bloodshed in decor,
so that people see it?

How naive of you to assume
that people are not seeing it,
how dumb of you to presume
that not seeing is the problem?

How faux is your concern,
like my plagiarized leather bag!
How suave when you grimace
with the right amount of pity!

Oh, but tuck it in, will you!

© Sana Rose 2020

--

--