How Giving Back to Others Can Make Your Life More Meaningful and Joyful

From Self-Centered to Selfless — How Helping Others Enriches Your Life

Mike Broadly, DHSc
Health and  Science

--

Photo by RDNE Stock project from Pexels

When I was younger, I mostly thought about myself and what I needed. I didn’t really think about helping others or how it could change my life. But then, something incredible happened that shifted my perspective.

I decided to volunteer at a local community to help disabled children. It was eye-opening. I saw firsthand the incredible impact even a small act of kindness could have on someone’s life.

These children and their parents were struggling. I realized I could make a real difference just by giving my time and energy to their well-being.

Since that moment, I’ve made it a personal mission to give back to others in any way I can. I’ve lent a hand at homeless shelters, donated to food banks, and supported animal shelters. I’ve also contributed to charities that champion causes close to my heart.

Giving back has transformed my life in profound ways. It’s filled me with happiness, purpose, and a stronger connection to my community. It’s also taught me to appreciate the good things in my own life even more.

The True Meaning of Altruism

--

--

Mike Broadly, DHSc
Health and  Science

Retired health scientist in his mid 70s, avid reader, writer, chief editor of Health & Science, part of ILLUMINATION. Info: https://medium.com/p/28cc629772ab