How I Almost Got Scammed By A Famous Country and Western Name

I was almost left singing the blues

Liam Ireland
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readOct 30, 2020

--

Illustration by Pixabay

Not that long ago I was almost scammed by somebody pretending to be none other than George Straight, a very wealthy country and western singer from the United States.

'George' said he wanted to fly me over to the USA to do some songwriting together. He was going to send his private jet all the way to Japan to collect me and my wife and fly us to his home for a week.

George said he was aware of my music as I was all over the internet, which it is. He said he liked my lyrics and wanted to introduce a fresh contributor to his next album.

Eventually George gave himself away by asking me for two thousand dollars up front travel expenses. When I queried this he dropped his request to five hundred dollars.

Let me tell you straight, George Straight is worth 500 million dollars and does not need five hundred bucks from a nobody like me.

Now there are more than one or two very good reasons why I was impressed a little by this scam at the outset. One, the initial contact came from a legitimate George Straight Linkedin profile.

--

--

Liam Ireland
ILLUMINATION

Author, writer, Illumination Editor, Top Writer in short stories and poetry.https://www.amazon.com/author/ryanobryan