How I Became a Reiki Practitioner

✨ Shannon McNiece
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readMar 2, 2023

--

At first, I thought Reiki was B.S.

Photo by Yoann Boyer on Unsplash

At first, I thought Reiki was B.S.

Maybe, maybe not, but I wasn’t convinced.

It sounded like an interesting concept when I first heard about Reiki, but I initially dismissed it. I had no idea how it would change my life.

Then I read the research on Reiki. It is clear something is going on there, more than just a placebo. Having that knowledge opened my mind up to receive a little more. It felt a little easier to put credence into randomized, double-blind, controlled studies.

Then I read how several major oncology hospitals offer Reiki to their patients. On some level, that seemed to give Reiki validity.

Maybe in my head, I thought, if these high-level, esteemed, reputable hospitals use it, it can’t be complete horse manure.

Once I crossed those scientific bridges, it made the esoteric easier for me to slip into. I don’t know why that is, but that was my personal experience.

What’s really funny to me about this is that I have ALWAYS felt other people’s energy.

It’s part of why I became a therapist and gravitated to person-centered care. It’s part of how I fell in love with the limbic system and neuroscience. It’s part of why I love biology. It’s part…

--

--

✨ Shannon McNiece
ILLUMINATION

Shannon runs the world’s first luxury holistic neuro-health company. She’s a mom & double board licensed therapist living in Colorado.