Humor

How I Became a Top Online Writer and Got 1,000,000 Views

When my views tanked, I knew I needed to take action

Alex Bentley
ILLUMINATION
Published in
5 min readMay 29, 2022

--

Photo by Ruben Ramirez on Unsplash

That’s when I called up Ev Williams on his cell phone. Being the founder and CEO of Medium.com, I knew if anyone had answers, he’d have them.

“Ev, my views are down,” I said when he picked up the phone. “What can I do to turn things around and get back on track?”

“Hey, Alex!” he said, greeting me. “How is it?”

This wasn’t the Ev I knew. He usually liked skirting formalities and getting down to business. That’s why I wasted no time appealing for his help.

“Good, man. But like I said, I have a problem. Can you help?”

“It’s easy,” he said. “Just write what people want to read.”

“What do people want to read?”

“Well, that’s the million-dollar question, isn’t it?”

“Come on, man. I know you’ve got the data.”

“Fine,” he said, finally giving in to my demands. “From our data, we’ve found that people like stories about how to make money online. And crypto.”

“That’s it? That’s all I need to do?”

“Pretty much,” he said. “Just write about what people want to read…

--

--

Alex Bentley
ILLUMINATION

I write about crypto, personal finance, business & tech. Also, I publish a bit of humor to make you laugh.