UPWORK | COPYWRITER | BLOGGER | FREELANCER

How I Earned $300+ During My First Month on Upwork

7 tips to help you jumpstart your freelance career on Upwork.

Romi Rafiq
ILLUMINATION

--

Image by Author: Screenshot of profile

It’s been almost a month and I still can’t believe it!

I had sent about 10 to 12 proposals and the plan was to keep sending more without expecting to be invited for an interview.

When I saw the job posting about writing road trip articles with the explicit mention of “no AI”, I thought, why not start the proposal with that?

Also, that job posting required the applicant to research a 100-word paragraph about why a road-tripper should stay at the said hotel on his way to The Grand Canyon.

About 20 minutes after I sent the proposal and went about my life completely forgetting about it, my phone rang with a notification. It was the first time I saw the “up” of Upwork on my phone’s screen.

By the way, Upwork, your logo is impressive! I mean it’s clearly visible even in the notifications bar!

So, here’s what I learned from this experience:

DO NOT use a template!

I know, templates are easy and efficient but they’re also useless! Let me explain.

What do all templates look like?

  • They start with hi or hello.
  • The second step is immediately stating your qualifications and expertise.
  • The third step is attaching your “generic” work samples.
  • And then you sign off with a call-to-action.

Do you notice something in this structure?

It’s all you, you, you! Where’s the client there?

Instead of using templates, read the job posting carefully and write a short, sweet cover letter, empathizing with the client before going off about yourself.

Personalize the proposal

Write according to the job description.

When clients read your proposal, they want to know what you can do for them! They want to know if you understand their problem and whether you have done similar projects in the past or not.

If a client needs articles, he’s not going to care about that amazing ad copy you wrote that got your client a huge revenue.

Attach relevant samples that can help the client judge your work in a better way.

For example, as I stated above, I started the proposal with the fact that the client didn’t want AI-written articles.

Image by Author: Screenshot of the start of the proposal

See what I did there? I didn’t just downright say I don’t work with AI. I tried to make a joke which got their attention!

Use mirroring to empathize

Show the client that you have read their job posting by mirroring what they have asked. Use the same words they have used.

State the problem and the pain point to show that you understand. Then present them with a solution.

In one of the jobs I applied to, the client had mentioned what topics he wanted the articles on, so I mirrored that and proceeded with telling him what he will get if he decides to work with me.

Also, he had explicitly mentioned that the applicant must have a strong grip on the English language.

Image by Author: Screenshot from the proposal

Use a hook at the beginning

The client only sees the first two lines of your proposal before opening it. The first two lines of the proposal are like headlines for articles.

That is the only chance you have at grabbing the attention of the client and forcing him to click on your proposal.

This can be an unusual fact, a joke, a pain point, or anything that makes the client go: “what? I gotta read the rest!”

I used the pain point of clients working with freelancers.

Image by Author: Screenshot from the proposal

Keep applying to more jobs

I’ve seen numerous freelancers making the mistake of relying on the job they got. Even if you are tied up with work,

SEND. MORE. PROPOSALS!

You can always talk to the clients later on about the deadline. You can ask someone to help you out for a small compensation.

But if you stop sending proposals and your existing client stops giving you more work, it’s not going to be the ideal situation.

Assign a slot of your time daily to job hunting. Also, keep an eye on the job you apply for.

Jobs with an initial task

With jobs like writing and editing, it is easy for the client to judge the applicants in real time by demanding a small task at the time of applying.

Try to apply to jobs like this in the beginning because there’s a huge chance you won’t have samples relating to the client’s niche when starting out.

These tasks can help you show that you are an expert in what you do and help the client judge your work.

I think the test paragraph made 80% of the hiring decision for my client!

Give revisions

You are not going to hit the bull’s eye the first time. The client is going to tell you there are some mistakes. And this is probably going to hurt you and make you mad.

But take this as positive criticism and use it to make yourself better. Ask the client what was unsatisfactory and then do your best to make the changes accordingly.

This gives you a chance at long-term work and also,

the shining, bright “Rising talent” badge!

Let the client know you are there for them, even after they have released the payment.

Yes, this is probably more work than what you signed up for, but this is crucial for your success as a beginner.

This is what helped me go from 0 to $300+ in the first month alone on Upwork. If you follow the tips and put in the work, you will be soaring through the sky in a matter of days!

Hi, I am Romi, the lead Copywriter at a brand design agency in Pakistan. I am also a blogger and ghostwriter for a Top Writer on Medium. I have worked with various clients ranging from startups to large enterprises creating enticing and persuasive copy that converts. I also create SEO-friendly, engaging articles with the help of story-telling.

If you like my work and would like to get copywriting, blogging, or ghostwriting services, hit me up at: romirafiq505@gmail.com and we can discuss your business right away.

--

--

Romi Rafiq
ILLUMINATION

Blogger and copywriter at Alifya Studio. Obsessed with books and skincare. Open for freelance writing. Reach out: romirafiq505@gmail.com