How I Eliminated Pesky Weeds in My Backyard

My battle with dandelions

Kristina Segarra
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Kathyryn Tripp on Unsplash

When we moved into our new suburban home in South Carolina, we felt like stepping into nature’s paradise. With the natural scenery and green spaces surrounding our living area, we couldn’t have asked for a better place to live.

Having a big yard was a blessing, but it came with a huge problem — our lawn was overrun by pesky weeds!

There were so many of them that if I had tried to count them all, I would’ve lost track.

The weeds were choking up our grass while at the same time giving our lawn an unsightly appearance. There were all kinds of weeds, but the worst offender was a dandelion. That pesky weed dared to pop up everywhere. I don’t blame it: it had a personality of his own.

Dandelion weeds. (Image by author)

I was so fed up with the weeds that I couldn’t wait to get rid of them. After doing some research, I realized it wasn’t as difficult as it seemed.

There are many ways to remove weeds from the lawn. One method involves applying a chemical, a broadleaf herbicide, that kills the weed down to the root. Another method, which is less toxic but more laborious, is to…

--

--

Kristina Segarra
ILLUMINATION

Freelance health/wellness/self-improvement writer, musician, mom of two boys. Join my newsletter: https://self-empowerment-club.ck.page/a9d23100d4