How I finally Overcame Procrastination

Self-discipline is a key to many doors

Aaliya Gul
ILLUMINATION
4 min readJul 23, 2020

--

Photo by Sharon McCutcheon on Unsplash

Sometimes I just feel a lack of direction and/or discipline.

Sometimes I just want things to get done but I feel stuck, inadequate, and confused.

The anxiety draws near when I think it should be otherwise. I commence and force myself to work, to come up with ideas, and to make things happen, but the reality stays — I feel no drive to make an effort to change the situation.

I have strived many times over the course of my life due to procrastination. Inherently, I would disregard things that sound too easy/simple to work, but would sooner realize that things don’t need to be complex in order to be functional, but important.

As Brian Tracy, author of The psychology Of Achievement puts it There is never enough time to do everything, but there is always enough time to do the important things”

Let’s be honest here: consuming content to beat procrastination doesn’t equal to actually being constructive.

If you think you are being productive by reading this you are not UNLESS by the end of reading this you practice something you read here.

Strategic Ways that helped me break the Cycle of Procrastination:

1. Stop Overthinking:

Overthinking is the root of all distractions. If you are overthinking you are probably not overthinking about the positives in life, you are most likely reasoning about the negative things that could happen in the future, eventually leading to worry, limiting faith and fear. It is a vicious cycle.

We have all been there. We are doing something and then distractions turn us to scroll Instagram or anything for that matter. With a little awareness, we can focus our energy on doing things that define our inner fulfillment.

The way we get to control our minds is to bring it to the present moment and stop thinking of the future.

For instance, if you happen to be reading a book,

  • Immerse yourself into the book entirely
  • Absorb the sense of nostalgia and let the author narrate scenes to you.
  • Indulge your senses in the present moment and do not allow it to wander into infinity.

2. Build Your Self-Esteem:

One way to overcome procrastination is to build your SELF-ESTEEM.

I do this by remembering things I have accomplished in the past, no matter how trivial I think they were. I do this consistently to revive my liveliness all the time.

More than anything, I have come to the realization that I don’t need to hold on to any bad memory. We often say, ‘I am like this because of my childhood distress’. It is an excuse to succumb to emotions and not taking control of our minds and actions.

Your body is the unconscious mind and you got to get out of your unconscious mind — meaning you got to control your mind.

Pick and choose your thoughts that make you feel good, that makes you productive, that makes you overcome doubt and make you stop caring what other people say or think. You are who you are and embrace that (be you).

3. Know your Nature:

Plan/Pick one thing you want to do/change and figure out which time in the day/night you are most productive and then do your best in that period.

The practice that helps me is setting a timer for 25 minutes and focusing completely on what I am supposed to be doing at that instant; and once that time is up, I take a short 5–10-minute break and then repeat.

I get up early, basically, I try not to sleep for longer than 8 hours. I write by letting my thoughts flow — The point is not to make any assumptions about my thoughts but simply clear my head.

When the day has come to an end, I sit down for 10–15 mins or focus on my prayer to reflect. This is the part where it is important to be fully honest and chances are I will wake up feeling good.

Don’t they say, “Either you run the day or day runs you’’

4. Rewrite Your Motivations Everyday:

Remind yourself why your success matters. pick one goal and be aware of what you are spending your time on.

More often, I ask myself if the particular task I am doing at that point in time is the best for me to be doing to reach my desired result. I have certainly seen the necessary difference in my life by practicing this habit.

Things we do repeatedly do become a part of us.

A study by Joe Dispenza shows, “95% of who we are by the time we are 35 years old is a memorised set of behaviours, emotional reactions, unconscious habits, hardwired attitudes, beliefs, and perceptions”

5. Embrace the Change:

The hardest part is to change. The moment we decide to make a different choice, it is going to feel uncomfortable. From that moment we will start to feel different and might crave to return to old familiar habits.

If a change happens, rather than influencing that change, I take time to rest and evaluate my motivations or reasons to continue what I am supposed to be doing.

A calm mind helps me to gain a new perspective and find a new spark to go on. I may not have the same environment or sources but that should not hinder my progress and from instilling discipline.

“If you improve yourself 1% a day what would be the result of it after 1 year?”

-Jordan Peterson

--

--

Aaliya Gul
ILLUMINATION

Most of my time is spent exploring new ideas and interests in an effort to learn & share ::