How I Found Love By Narrowing My Dating Criteria

Find a match by being clear about priorities

Wendy Scott
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Hendo Wang on Unsplash

After my marriage broke up, I was single for ten long years. I dated via online dating sites, off and on, and became an expert on dating rather than finding love. I had a couple of relationships that lasted about six months, two of them with much younger men, but nothing serious.

When I started dating, I was pretty clueless. I had been married for 18 years and the dating world had changed while I wasn’t looking. I went on a lot of coffee dates. I had fun and met lots of nice men but wasn’t achieving my goal of finding a partner.

I’m an extrovert. I love meeting people and getting out of the house. Looking back, I don’t think my extrovert tendencies served me well. My usual approach of, ‘If it’s an outing, count me in’ and habit of liking everyone and believing the best of people until proven otherwise, didn’t translate to successful dating.

I was too willing to go on dates with men who didn’t match my ideal. Although it was interesting, it became a waste of time.

That’s when I decided to narrow down my search.

Reading about dating was one of my guilty pleasures in my single days. I enjoy a happy ending as much as the next person. Stop laughing.

--

--

Wendy Scott
ILLUMINATION

L&D professional writing practical, step-by-step leadership and training & development articles to help leaders, managers & trainers grow their careers.