How I Know I’m a Natural Writer

And how you can know too.

Noah Nelson
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min readAug 2, 2024

--

Photo by Nastya Dulhiier on Unsplash

I’m a writer.

Duh, if I wasn’t, I wouldn’t be writing on Medium. I probably wouldn’t be writing at all come to think of it.

Writing comes natural to me. These are some signs I am a natural writer and how you may be too:

I Always Have Story Ideas

Photo by Reuben Juarez on Unsplash

I’m a great observer of the world.

When an idea hits, I am constantly writing down my thoughts and observations. I don’t want to lose a good idea.

If you’re doing this already, it’s a sure sign you were meant to write. I know I am too.

I Am Always Reading

Photo by Masjid Pogung Dalangan on Unsplash

No matter where I go, I always seem to have a book close by in my hand.

This has probably always been the case. I have loved reading since a young age. Because of this, it’s made me want to be a writer too. I am able to write my passions and share my voice with the…

--

--

Noah Nelson
ILLUMINATION

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign Alum | Author of “Life: A Collection of Short Stories” and “Dana and Me” | Featured Writer on ILLUMINATION (23x).