LIFE | INSPIRATION | THIS HAPPENED TO ME

How I Learned to Forgive Through the Power of Love.

The 3-step process I used to release feelings of anger and resentment.

Kelley Rouland, M.A.
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readJun 28, 2024

--

Photo by KAL VISUALS on Unsplash

The weak can never forgive. Forgiveness is the attribute of the strong. ~ Mahatma Gandhi

Here is a sad truth: at some point in life, we will all be challenged with forgiving someone. It is unavoidable. Not everyone has a good heart. But, what happens when we can’t muster the strength it takes to forgive?

In this article, I will share my story of forgiveness and the 3 step process I used to forgive successfully. The journey began with a toxic work situation and ended with freedom from anger and resentment.

What happened?

The problem centered around a small workplace where I was caught in a rumor mill. The ordeal lasted more than 2 years but the worst part is the management team was the source of the gossip. This led to an uncomfortable work environment and zero trust in management.

Then one day my position was eliminated. I was at last free from this toxic environment. At first glance, it seemed like an answer to prayers, and in a way it was. But, I didn’t…

--

--

Kelley Rouland, M.A.
ILLUMINATION

I am a freelance writer and blogger. I love to write about life, inspiration, a spirituality.