How I Made 100$ in My First Month on Medium

I was not expecting this

Carin Luca
ILLUMINATION
4 min readJul 6, 2022

--

Photo by Josh Appel on Unsplash

When I started my Medium journey in the last few days of May 2022, I was not sure what I was expecting; as I have previously said, whilst watching YouTube, I came across two writers saying how great Medium is.

They are Zulie Rane and Sinem Günel and I watched every single video about Medium. I decided to give it a go and here are the results.

This month of June, I made $101 by writing on Medium! I honestly don’t know how I stumbled upon Medium.

screenshot by Sobaan Saeed

This definitely isn’t something to brag about but just a little push that if a twenty-year-old like myself can do it, so can you.

I’ve for sure learned some things about Medium that I couldn’t have learned otherwise. These are the three lessons which I have learned in the past couple of weeks.

Writing Well is Hard

This is the biggest lesson I have learned. I had no idea how hard it was to write well. I didn’t think it would be too hard to write a blog post when it comes to engaging readers on a real subject.

I have improved over time and wrote an article about that and now I can see little difference and the way I can capture the reader’s attention through rhythm and spacing.

Getting better at writing is making me want to write even more. I now look forward to it each day and try to publish at least three to four articles a week.

It’s amazing how many great writers are on here like Har Narayan, and I feel privileged to have the ability to produce content with them.

Some stories won’t earn much

Sometimes, no matter how hard you work on an article, it won’t earn much or even anything at all. That 1000-word piece you just published? It might not get many views.

Before you hit publish on that next article, remember not to get too attached to it. It might earn a bit, or it might not.

Publishing a piece of content is not a guarantee that it will earn anything. Lower your expectation otherwise, it’ll convert the whole writing process painful.

Your articles can be chosen for distribution

If your story is high quality and followed the curation guidelines. It can be chosen to be distributed by Medium to other channels, increasing the odds that readers will discover your content.

I have published 12 stories this month among them 7 are been distributed. This means I have a more than 50% curation rate.

When this happens, you can expect views and reads that you wouldn’t normally have enjoyed. That doesn’t mean that without distribution you won’t get any reads or claps, of course. But you’re likely to get far fewer than you could have.

Don’t completely rely on curation, try to get stability rather than virality. To get the stability you need to build an audience and I’m working on that article in which I’ll guide you on how to build an audience.

Some popular post

June’s most popular posts are listed below. They are well worth reading. Perhaps you can tell why they are so popular.

The purpose of this article is to help others. Am I on the right track or is it a case of beginner’s luck?

--

--

Carin Luca
ILLUMINATION

I write about human psychology , love and relations