How I Made $1838 My First Month on Medium

The 6 key components of writing a viral story

Kiki Joy
ILLUMINATION

--

When I first began writing on Medium during the last week of August, I’d never expected that I would nearly double the income of my day job. At least, not nearly as quickly. And certainly not in my first month.

After setting up my account, signing up for the Medium Partner Program, choosing my topic preferences, and following a few people that I found inspiring, I navigated to my home page with wide eyes and scrolled through the creative and witty headlines. I began to read various stories about writing advice and tips. I came across many with headlines like “How I Made $3200 on Medium Last Month” and “How I Make $500 a Week on Medium”. As a brand new Medium member, I found the success stories to be so inspiring. I felt excited to begin my writing journey and see where it takes me.

So, the fact that I’m sitting here right now with a steaming hot cup of chamomile tea writing my own “How I Made X on Medium” story sort of blows my mind a little bit.

Hopefully, I’m not beating a dead horse here. I am aware that the stories about Medium earnings are slightly over-saturated. However, I believe that what sets my experience apart is that all of this happened in my first full month.

--

--

Kiki Joy
ILLUMINATION

Bachelor of Science in Nutrition. Lover of all things travel, food, health, and fitness related. Let’s build wellness rather than treating disease.