How I Earned Almost Half A Million Dollars On Medium

I am just waiting to be paid

Liam Ireland
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readJan 11, 2021

--

Photograph by Blogging Guide on Unsplash

I see so many stories of how people are making lots of money online, and although making lots of money has never been my MO, I am always interested in effective ways to help pay my bills.

Having now been at it for quite some time, I am convinced that the majority of people who are making big money are doing so by simply claiming to have the key to making big money on line. Neat.

My first attempt at making money on the internet was about two years ago when I put two music albums of my own up on Bandcamp and a variety of other sites.

How many albums have I sold? One! Yes that's right, one album sale at 9.99 dollars. And that one album sale was to the producer of my first album, 'Nobodies Pet', who lost the masters and wanted a copy for his collection. So if you take that away then the number of albums sold drops to zero! Not one!

Apart from Bandcamp I put one of the albums, 'Lost and Found', up on Amazon, Spotify, Apple Music, KK Box.....The album is on sites I have never even heard of before. What I got was global coverage via a distributor called Distrokid. I haven't sold any complete albums using these other platforms, though I have sold individual tracks.

--

--

Liam Ireland
ILLUMINATION

Author, writer, Illumination Editor, Top Writer in short stories and poetry.https://www.amazon.com/author/ryanobryan