Valuable Life & Leadership Lessons

How I Methodically Learned to Use Fearful Failure as a Powerful and Joyful Success Factor

Failure is a naturally built mechanism for humans to survive and thrive. I can’t see a better tool than the so-called “failure” to taste the true success that I define myself.

Dr Mehmet Yildiz
ILLUMINATION
Published in
10 min readMay 24, 2024

--

Photo by Julian Jagtenberg from Pexels

I couldn’t find a single, universally accepted definition of success. Success is a personal and subjective concept that varies depending on our values, goals, and perspectives. During my observations, I learned how others define success. Some resonated with me, and some did not.

For example, some see success as achieving specific goals, while others see it as feeling content, fulfilled, and purposeful. Some equate success with contributing to something larger than themselves, while others prioritize financial stability and independence. For some, success is a journey of continuous learning, self-improvement, and overcoming challenges; for some, it is all of the above.

For years, the fear of failure held me hostage, delaying my progress and impeding my dreams. I read countless inspiring stories and listened to pep talks about embracing failure as a stepping stone to success…

--

--

Dr Mehmet Yildiz
ILLUMINATION

Scientist, Technologist, Inventor, focusing on HEALTH and JOY. Founder of ILLUMINATION, curating key messages for society. Connection: https://digitalmehmet.com