How I Operated Fear out of My Brain

Nuwan Bandaranayaka
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readApr 18, 2023

--

Image Credit: Rachel Claire https://www.pexels.com/

As a regular person, I encounter various life adversities that sometimes cause minor mental pressure while others create chaos. I was so fearful that even thinking about a change in my life gave me nightmares. I was pretty comfortable in my 8–5 Corporate life and did not want any risks to ruin the balance. But inside, I was miserable.

I wanted a way out, and I did not have any clue. Even thinking about leaving my job was something that made me crippled mentally. The comfort zone is a bitch.

“We suffer more often in imagination than in reality,”

I came across these wise words through Tim Ferris’ Ted Talk “Why you should define your fears instead of your goals.” Tim Ferris has significantly influenced me; I have always found his content valuable. However, I used to consume information but never executed any of it. But once I had decided and taken the step forward, I remembered this video I watched 05 years back and had a momentary dopamine high. So watch that video again,

but this time, it was mindful.

Fear Setting is a practice that involves writing down worst-case scenarios and finding ways to prevent and repair potential damage. The three-page exercise includes defining fears, avoiding worst-case scenarios, and considering the cost of inaction. Individuals can overcome their fears and take action by going through this exercise.

Here are the three pages of the Fear-Setting exercise,

First Page

“What if I…?”

Here, individuals write down their fears and worst-case scenarios. The page has three columns:

  • Define: Individuals write down all the worst things they can imagine happening if they take the step they fear. They need to write 10 to 20 worst-case scenarios.
  • Prevent: Individuals write down what they could do to prevent each of the bullets in the “Define” column from happening.
  • Repair: Individuals write down what they could do to repair the damage if the worst-case scenarios happen or who they could ask for help.

Second Page

“What might be the benefits of an attempt or a partial success?”

Here, individuals focus on the benefits of attempting what they fear. They need to spend 10 to 15 minutes on this.

Third Page

“The Cost of Inaction.”

Here, individuals consider the cost of not acting and maintaining the status quo. They need to ask themselves what their life might look like in six months, 12 months, or three years if they avoid taking action. They need to get detailed emotionally, financially, physically, and in other ways.

Individuals can overcome their fears and take action by going through this exercise. They will realize that the temporary and reversible pain they might experience is minimal compared to the life-changing impact that taking action can have.

Fear can be a paralyzing force that keeps us from taking action and achieving our goals. But By facing our worst-case scenarios head-on and devising strategies to prevent and repair potential damage, we can build the confidence to take action and realize our full potential. So go ahead and give fear-setting a try, and see how it can transform your life and help you achieve your dreams!

Here is the link to the Tedtalk done by Tim Ferris, https://youtu.be/5J6jAC6XxAI

--

--