How I Overcame My Phone Anxiety

And what I learned from this experience

Lucy Dan 蛋小姐 (she/her/她)
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Charles Deluvio on Unsplash

Phone anxiety is so common amongst millennials and Gen Z. I can’t pinpoint why, but it’s a confusing mix of not being able to see visual social cues, not really having the experience, and the demand of getting a phone call and feeling pressured to answer it immediately.

That being said, I eventually overcame this phone anxiety thanks to one of my earlier research assistantship jobs. I was inspired to tell this story after reading Michael Ranjitsingh’s story on knocking on 200 doors to ask about odours.

It’s incredible to me that the task itself was so different, but the lessons I grasped from such an experience were so alike.

Michael outlines two big lessons from his experience: knowing the meaning behind something and trusting in routines, habits and practice. This is exactly how I overcame my phone anxiety through this job too.

Trust me, I dreaded the actual task. The research assistantship was so cool, focussing on a question that was exactly what I wondered…

--

--

Lucy Dan 蛋小姐 (she/her/她)
ILLUMINATION

Filling in the cracks on conflicting self improvement advice and translating how these can work for a more diverse audience ✨ Icon by: @jkbarts #WEOC writer.