How I Plan Before Implementing Anything: A Step-by-Step Strategy

Shilpa Bankapur
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readMay 30, 2024

Planning saves time, avoids problems and gives a clear idea to reach your goal smoothly.

Author created strategic planning image on Canva
The author created the image on Canva

Always planning stands in the first position to start anything it may be your trip, cooking, organising events, starting a personal project or a new startup, planning before doing anything is the best way to get expected results.

Planning saves time, avoids problems and gives a clear idea to reach your goal smoothly.

Everyone has their own strategies to implement, right?

I also have some set of rules to implement for a successful result.

In this article, I will discuss how I set my goals, do research, anticipate risks and communicate effectively to reach my goals smoothly.

So, Let’s join with me!

Step #1: Defining Goal

Why It’s Important

Defining goals provides a clear direction and purpose for our task. Without clear goals, we risk wasting time and doing some extra useless activities that don’t contribute to our success.

How to Do It

  • Be Specific: Clearly, define what you want to achieve. For example Instead of saying “Reduce weight” I repeat myself “ I must reduce my 2kg weight by the end of this month”.
  • Make Your Goal Measurable: I quantified my goals. This means what is my current status, how much I need to complete, and what skills or strategies I need to apply. This allows me to track my goals and measure success.
  • Ensure They Are Achievable: Set realistic goals considering current resources and restrictions.
  • Setting a Time Frame: I establish a deadline to create a sense of urgency, this focuses on completing the task within the assigned time.

Step #2: Research and Analysis

Why It’s Important

Understanding our potential challenges, market or audience helps us to make an informed decision and avoid pitfalls.

For Example, I want to start a startup say, “an online training”. Firstly I research the market demand for the training, analyse my competitors, visit their websites, understand their marketing strategies, and identify any gaps then, I try to fill them for more improvements.

Let’s understand how I do that!

How to Do It

  • Market Research: First we need to identify our audience, understand their needs and preferences, and also analyse trends.
  • Competitive Analysis: I study my competitors to understand their strengths and weaknesses, and identify opportunities to differentiate myself.
  • SWOT Analysis: I first do a SWOT analysis on my project. This means my Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, and Threats to get a comprehensive view of projects.

Step #3: Develop a Detailed Plan

Why It’s Important

A detailed plan provides a roadmap to achieve our goals, outlining specific steps and resources needed.

How to Do It

  • Break Down Tasks: I divide my project into smaller, manageable tasks. This helps me to track my tasks easily.
  • Assign Responsibilities: I assign myself daily tasks, which means i need to complete this amount of work today based on my capacity. If we’re working as a team, then we divide our tasks based on one’s strengths and expertise.
  • Set Deadlines: Establish a deadline for each task to keep the project on track.
  • Budgeting: I estimate the costs required for my projects and allocate resources accordingly

For example, if I want to have an e-commerce website, my first tasks might include selecting a platform, designing the website, sourcing products, and creating marketing materials.

If you have a team, then assign these tasks to team members or schedule time for each.

Step #4: Prepare for Risks

Why It’s Important

Every business or task has its risks, we need to identify the risks and having a contingency plan can save us from unexpected setbacks.

How to Do It

  • Identify Risks: Think about what could go wrong at each stage of the project.
  • Develop Contingency Plans: We should plan alternative actions to mitigate these risks if they occur.
  • Monitor and Review: Continuously motor for new risks and adjust my plan accordingly.

For example, If I face trouble in training class due to an internet connection or power issue, I plan before backups for alternative supplies or arrange some internet portals.

Step #5: Monitor and Adjust

Why It’s Important

I regularly monitor the progress of my task. By doing this I can make necessary adjustments and stay on track towards my goals.

How to Do It

  • Track Progress: We can use project management tools like Trello, and Asana to track the progress of tasks.
  • Review Regularly: I regularly review my task and compare it with previous work(I have maintained an Excel sheet for different tasks)

Conclusion

Planning before implementing any task is like constructing a solid foundation for success. By defining clear goals, conducting thorough research, developing a detailed plan, preparing for risk and monitoring progress, we get success in our project.

If we invest more time and effort in planning, our implementation will be smoother. I hope these strategies will help you in your next project.

So take a step back, plan meticulously, and watch your project thrive.

Thanks for Reading!

--

--

Shilpa Bankapur
ILLUMINATION

I'm passionate writer writing about SEO, web design, social media marketing, and trending AI tools. Let's explore the world of digital marketing together!