REFLECTION | PLANNING

How I Plan for Success and My Tools: January 2024

Bullet Journal, TickTick, The Hero’s Journal, Atomic Habits, Stoicism, and Word of the Year

Ann Rickert Leach
ILLUMINATION
Published in
6 min readJan 3, 2024

--

Image created by Ann Leach

Each year, I take January off and use it to reflect on the year gone by and plan for the year starting. I’ve written about this before here.

There is just too much happening in December (all the usual stuff plus holidays, end-of-year gatherings and breakouts) to mindfully sit down and reflect on the year past.

I like to read through last year’s BuJo (Bullet Journal) and Hero’s Journal. Look at what worked and what didn’t. Make decisions about open tasks and projects. Read Atomic Habits. Again.

Then intentionally and mindfully plan the new year. Set goals. Plan holidays.

About 10 years ago, without knowing about The Bullet Journal Method, I created a similar system for myself. Then about 5 years, I picked up the book at the library and took it fully on board. A couple years ago, I read Atomic Habits and The Daily Stoic and added them to my overall system. Finally, last year, the Hero’s Journal and TickTick crossed my path and found spots in my system.

--

--

Ann Rickert Leach
ILLUMINATION

Book author and article writer, Unplugged Fun owner; Outdoor & physical activity enthusiast, Living best life adventurer, Curious learner