How I Started a Meditation Youtube Channel

You can’t get to 100 without the first 1.

Shao Zhou
ILLUMINATION
3 min readJul 12, 2024

--

Photo by Shao Zhou
Photo by Shao Zhou

A year ago, I started a Youtube channel after I was laid off from my job at a tech startup. All of a sudden, the circumstances offered me the capacity to explore a new creative outlet I had always been curious about. Plus I wanted to keep myself busy with something productive in between job hunting and interviewing.

I knew exactly what type of content I wanted to create, and that was my meditation practice. Very few things in life offer so much in return for so little of our time.

Calm is a superpower accessible to all, and I wanted to share this concept with the world. It is because of my meditation practice that I have strengthened my mind and my body so that in the difficult times, such as a job loss, I can depend it.

A month prior, I had moved into a new apartment building with a stunning rooftop lounge. Might as well put the amenities I was paying so much for in rent to good use. It was the perfect place to film and I waited for sunset hour to capture the golden glow lighting.

I propped my iPhone 12 on a $10 tripod from Amazon, and recorded myself meditating for a few minutes. From there, I uploaded and edited the video in CapCut, which is a free web-based editor that allows you to incorporate everything from an intro, outro, music and thumbnail.

Lastly, I overlayed voiceovers of a script I recorded on the iPhone’s Voice Memos app. A hot tip I later found out is to toggle on “noise reduction” within CapCut’s audio settings to remove background noise like a charm.

My experience with it all just shows how little you need to have in terms of equipment and little-to-no prior knowledge about video editing to get started. You can absolutely get off the ground launching a Youtube channel in 1 day.

My first 5 minute meditation video titled “Let It Be” is still the most viewed to this day. It reflected stinging rawness I was feeling at that present moment and what my soul needed to hear the most:

  • Everything is going to be ok.
  • Keep sitting with what is.
  • Not letting it go, but letting it be.

It is inevitable that life is filled with ups and downs. What’s important is that we can fully appreciate both successes and failures without feeling like we’re knocked off course from our goals by them.

I encourage everyone to lean into a meditation practice to build your own inner resiliency and calm to return to. So that you can keep taking one step in front of the other towards the bigger picture without being intoxicated by wins or calling it quits from setbacks.

And you can start a practice with just 5 minutes a day. Sending you love, sending you light, sending you peace. Namaste. 🙏✨

--

--

Shao Zhou
ILLUMINATION

California-grown New Yorker. Product Manager. Learning to live Happier, Healthier & More Productive Lives.