How I Took Control of My Brain’s Reward System

You’re wrecking your mind! How to take control of your dopamine.

Jano le Roux
ILLUMINATION

--

A man feeling happy with a sun in his heart.
Illustration

A few months ago, I found myself constantly checking my phone. Notifications, likes, and comments were my daily dopamine hits.

It felt great at first, but over time, I noticed a change. My motivation dipped, and simple pleasures lost their appeal. I knew I had to make a change.

Here’s my journey into understanding and managing dopamine, the molecule that fuels our drive and motivation.

The brain’s currency

Dopamine is more than just a feel-good chemical. It’s the brain’s currency that motivates us to take action.

Imagine you’re in a busy restaurant — tonic transmission is the constant background chatter, while phasic transmission is like someone calling your name, grabbing your attention.

Every time I got an Instagram notification, it was a phasic dopamine release, making me crave that next check.

Dopamine, cheap dopamine. Time to master you.

The science behind the highs and lows

I learned from neuroscientist Andrew Huberman that too much dopamine can lead to a crash below baseline levels.

--

--

Jano le Roux
ILLUMINATION

I craft zero-bs marketing that doesn't feel like marketing. Award-winning brand expert ready to lead your brand's growth. Connect: jano@likeflare.com Join me ⤵️