How I Triumph Over Anxiety

You can do this too

Shashank Thakur
ILLUMINATION
3 min readMay 13, 2024

--

My Triumph Over Anxiety
Photo by Madison Oren on Unsplash

Anxiety used to be my unwelcome roommate, a relentless voice in my head narrating every possible disaster around the corner. From work presentations to casual coffee dates, even the most basic interactions felt like navigating a minefield. It chipped away at my enjoyment of life, leaving me constantly on edge, perpetually bracing for the next impending doom.

But here’s the thing

I didn’t have to live like that. I fought back, clawed my way out from under that suffocating anxiety, and emerged on the other side with a newfound sense of calm and control. It wasn’t a quick fix but a gradual journey of self-discovery and rewiring.

The turning point came when I realized avoidance, my initial coping mechanism, was feeding the beast. The more I steered clear of situations that triggered my anxiety, the more my comfort zone shrank, and the bigger those situations loomed in my mind.

So, I started small.

Public speaking was a particular source of dread, so I joined a local Toastmasters club. Those first meetings were brutal. My palms would sweat, my voice would tremble, and I’d be convinced everyone could hear the frantic drumming of my heart. But with each presentation, something shifted. The fear didn’t vanish completely, but it lessened its grip. I learned that even if things didn’t go perfectly, the world wouldn’t come crashing down.

Mindful Technique

Another crucial weapon in my arsenal became mindfulness techniques, particularly deep breathing exercises. In the throes of anxiety, focusing on my breath was like throwing an anchor in a storm. It brought a sense of calm and grounded me in the present moment, pulling me away from the whirlwind of catastrophic thinking. There are countless free guided meditations available online that can be incredibly helpful in learning these techniques.

Cognitive reframing

This played a major role. I started recognizing and challenging the negative self-talk that fueled my anxiety. Instead of the crippling thought, “I’m going to mess up,” I’d reframe it to a more empowering one, “I’m prepared, and I’ll do my best.” This shift in perspective helped me approach situations with a sense of capability rather than impending failure.

Physical activity

This is another key player. Exercise has a well-documented ability to boost mood and reduce stress. For me, it became a way to burn off nervous energy and clear my head. Even a brisk walk in nature could significantly lessen the intensity of an anxiety attack.

Professional Help

Perhaps the most important step I took was seeking professional help. Talking to a therapist was a turning point. They equipped me with a toolbox of coping mechanisms and helped me develop healthier ways to manage my anxiety. Therapy wasn’t about erasing anxiety altogether, but about learning to live with it in a way that didn’t control my life. Don’t be afraid to ask for help — it’s a sign of strength, not weakness.

Conclusion

Overcoming anxiety is a marathon, not a sprint. There will be setbacks, days when the old worries creep back in with a vengeance. But with consistent effort and the right tools, you can learn to silence the storm of anxious thoughts and cultivate a sense of inner peace. You are not your anxiety. You are stronger than it, and with the right approach, you can take back control of your life.

--

--