How I Tutor Ukrainians and Why I Love it.

John Follis
ILLUMINATION
2 min readFeb 23, 2023

--

As much as I hate hearing about the suffering in Ukraine, I can’t ignore it. I feel much sympathy for Ukrainians and it’s why I was excited to learn about a program called “ENGin.”

ENGin was created to help Ukrainians learn and improve English via English-speaking volunteers. As a volunteer you just need to register and indicate your availability. You then get matched with a Ukrainian student and connect via Zoom. It's easy.

How you work with your student is totally up to you and your student. I now work with five students and they all say the same thing; “It just really helps having a 1-on-1 conversation with someone whose native language is English.”

What I didn't realize is how important it is for younger Ukrainians to know and speak English well. Since work opportunities in Ukraine are almost nonexistent, they need to seek work outside their borders (and online) where English is the dominant language. So, the better you know English, the more opportunities you’ll have.

One of my students, Anastasiia, had been working online with Google, but lost her job when the war started and Google stopped working with Ukrainians. Now, with time on her hands, she signed up with ENGin to improve her rusty English. She's told me multiple times how grateful she is to have someone like me to help her improve.

Anastasiia

If this sounds good, check out the ENGin website where you can learn more and sign up. It’s fun, easy, and a great way to make a big, positive difference in someone’s life.

--

--

John Follis
ILLUMINATION

Award-winning writer, content creator, entrepreneur, and marketing advisor for small biz. https://linktr.ee/johnfollis