How I use Notion for Habit Tracker

Track Daily, Weekly, and Monthly Goals

Ryan Mitchell ℝℳ★
ILLUMINATION
4 min readMar 9, 2024

--

Photo by Ivan Lopatin on Unsplash

Developing good habits is not just a routine but rather the journey of improving self. They form a strong base for achievements, performance and individual development.

I am here today to unveil a lifestyle system that has helped me track and manage my habit records using Notion, through a reward system and motivational quotes, to become that person that I have always wanted to be.

It has completely transformed the way I view habit building and the way I integrate them into my life.

We shall do a closer analysis of the homepage of the Habit Tracker.

Screenshot by Ryan Mitchell ℝℳ★ from Notion

First of all, the summary block is what you see. I can observe my progress and identify trends at a glance, and based on this I can make any needed changes to my habits.

Daily Habit Tracking

After that, I can easily go through my daily habit list in the "today" section or by tapping on the "quick access" buttons on the left-hand corner.

I can also see the progress I am making in my daily habits, with the status of the completion. Tapping on the page makes it possible for me to pick up from my list of quotes that reinforce the confidence to meet all the tasks of today.

Screenshot by Ryan Mitchell ℝℳ★ from Notion

Right after the time of quoting, you will notice a star icon next to the quote which is to be added to the list of the favorites I have selected. I shall also explain the quote system in a later part.

Reward System

The reward overview section keeps me motivated by imagining all the rewards that I have already earned and the milestones that I have completed.

It's a very important tool to help celebrate small successes and to keep the progress on.

Here is my daily habits book.

Screenshot by Ryan Mitchell ℝℳ★ from Notion

I can create my own page with new goals and rewards that I want my child to achieve. After logging in to the reward page, the available options include setting the due time and the time of completion for a goal.

The progress for that day will be presented below the line, so that I can make a step towards my goal.

Activity Log

The moment the target time approaches, the system will send me a reminder to secure my earned reward. Another option on the behavior page is that I can also enter into the activity log.

I just have to press this button and the timer keeps the time automatically.

As the next section, in the reward area, I discover the objectives and benefits as I go for each habit. When the reward block shows reward settlement, it means that I attained the goal with a deadline and my reward can be settled.

With the completion of the settlement of this reward will be arrived, I can click archive to conceal it. If I wish to reminisce about previously set reward goals, I can visit the archive page to study them.

Having come to the top, I can shift to this and that sub-categories by clicking on the navigation bar and moving to the quotes page.

Here, I will save new quotes and my favorites ones by clicking on the quick add button on the left side. I can also use drag-and-drop method to bookmark quotes in the favorites list.

On the latest use page, I can easily keep track of the quotes that I have been using.

Screenshot by Ryan Mitchell ℝℳ★ from Notion

In fact, I have my favorite quote authors, so I check in on the quotes they post frequently. I can proceed to the author section and see all the quotes posted therein by various authors.

Reflecting on Progress

There's a link to the review report on the navigation bar again. I can review the current cycle and think about the effective performance in each week or month. It could show the average completion rate of the habit list.

Go back to the "Quick Add" area which is located on the left of the main page where I can add habits, rewards, and quotes swiftly.

When adding rewards, it happens that the rewards are not assigned to a habit, and the reminder is located under.

All I have to do is to initiate the page and choose a habit aimed at the goal.

Closing Words!

Notion has become my favorite tool to keep track of my progress towards my goals of self-improvement.

It digitalizes the performance of our habits.

Thus, it is not easy to visualize the goals which are vague, but the performance of the habit becomes measurable. With this, we can look at ourselves and see our routines-as well as our targets for personal development.

I hope that now you have a better grasp of what is Notion, and I am always ready to help everyone in developing good habits and pursuing self-improvement.

--

--

Ryan Mitchell ℝℳ★
ILLUMINATION

Leadership Guide, Speaker. Former Googler, Idaho MBA Grad. Passionate about empowering individuals through Music, leadership, Tech, and knowledge exchange.