How to Use the Socratic Method to Write More

Ask yourself questions and answer them to motivate your writing

Peter Banasiak
ILLUMINATION

--

What do you mean?
Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

Have you ever sat down at your computer wracking your mind for the next part of your article?

Do you find it challenging to go from point A to point B etc.…?

Could you use an extra tool in your writer’s toolkit?

I don’t know about you, but I often struggle to generate content ideas and keep going with ideas I think up. When I sit down at my local coffee shop with my black coffee my mind often goes as blank as the page in front of me.

It’s discouraging to be in the right location and mood to write yet have a mental block.

When I do write, it is often in my journals, and the other day I had a breakthrough during one of my writing sessions. I was thinking about college and how I could produce so many papers during my undergrad and do decent in class.

What’s different between then and now and if I found this out could I help myself out of this rut?

I seriously thought about this question while watching those around me drink their coffee and converse with their friends.

Then I had it, a sort of epiphany. College is a place where the curious go to learn about…

--

--

Peter Banasiak
ILLUMINATION

Blogger, essayist, pizzaiolo. I write at the intersection of identity, philosophy, and self-development. I use what I've learned to help those who wander..