Healthy Aging with Fitness

How Improving VO2max Highly Enhanced My HRV in My Golden Years

Here’s what I learned from my experiments in my personal fitness journey after my 60s and how you can tailor it to your needs.

Mike Broadly, DHSc
ILLUMINATION
Published in
8 min readMay 27, 2024

--

Photo by alexandre saraiva carniato from Pexels

Discovering the Benefits of Improving VO2max and HRV After My 60s

You might be surprised to hear an old man talking about these new-age fitness ideas, usually the domain of young folks sharing their fitness journeys on Instagram or YouTube. They often attribute their stunning bodily transformations to concepts I will cover in this personal story.

It’s Never Too Late to Get Fit and Healthy.

Age is just a number when it comes to improving your fitness. Even after reaching 70, I managed to boost my VO2max and improved my HRV through consistent and structured training. If I could achieve this transformation despite juggling the joys of retirement and a bustling family life with lots of kids, grandkids, students, and pets, then anyone can follow proven steps to success.

I consider myself lucky to have encountered these ideas just as they were gaining traction. My curious mind, along with the support of friends, colleagues…

--

--

Mike Broadly, DHSc
ILLUMINATION

Retired health scientist in his mid 70s, avid reader, writer, chief editor of Health & Science, part of ILLUMINATION. Info: https://medium.com/p/28cc629772ab