How I’ve Changed After Living In France For 3 Years

Jolie Porter
ILLUMINATION
Published in
5 min readJul 4, 2023

--

Photo by Roksolana Zasiadko on Unsplash

Moving abroad to a country where all the “common sense” life rules I once knew were true were changed was one of the most challenging but valuable lessons I’ve had in life. Still, I would recommend anyone to go and live abroad for at least a few months if they have the opportunity.

Living abroad will present you with many challenges. This is something I find many travel writers like to brush over. But the challenges are one of the most important parts! You grow immensely, thanks to them. Even simple things like going to the bank seem like colossal feats when you’re attempting to get your point across in your new language!

Yet, all of these challenges just make you stronger than who you’d be if you hadn’t left. Moving abroad also makes you realize just how vast the world is! Even after years of living here in France, to this day, I still feel like I learn exceptional lessons about life daily. Here are a few ways in which I’ve changed after living in France for three years.

Photo by Anurag Arora on Unsplash

A greater appreciation for quality food

--

--

Jolie Porter
ILLUMINATION

American girl living in France. I love meeting new people and discovering different cultures. If we are brave enough to live boldly, life can be an adventure!