How Diversity Made MAC Cosmetics A Billion-Dollar Brand

Because they started making make-up for black and brown people.

Rebecca Stevens
ILLUMINATION

--

I’ve always been fascinated by makeup, not because I have bad skin, but rather because I love how makeup can transform one’s face. From a perfect smoky eye to a beautiful cupid’s bow lip, makeup has the power to make people feel beautiful.

My mother let me start wearing lip gloss and eyeliner when I was 16. When I turned 18, I decided to try foundation, blush, and eye shadow. I sauntered with excitement to the nearest makeup counter at a luxury beauty store only to be turned away just as quickly as I had arrived.

“We don’t have anything for your skin color. Black people don’t need to wear makeup,” said a perfectly groomed white lady at the make-up counter. I sensed she will a little aggravated by my presence.

No make-up for black people

My hopes were dashed. Here I was, brimming with excitement, imagining the different lipsticks and eye shadow color combinations that I could try on, and suddenly there was this brutal awakening, the reality that there were no products for me. How could that be? All my white teenage friends were enjoying pearly pinks and orange peachy lipstick. Why was I deprived of the fun of that experience?

--

--

Rebecca Stevens
ILLUMINATION

I write about racism, but there are so many other things I would like to write about instead. Help me dismantle racism so that I can get to that.