How Majoring in Political Science Improved My Writing Skills

Buket Mat
ILLUMINATION
Published in
5 min readFeb 16, 2022

--

Understand the power of reading and practice to write better.

Photo by Clay Banks on Unsplash

I have always been interested in writing. I always like to have to-do lists and cross the things I have done. Casually, I keep a diary, write things that I wouldn’t have express anywhere else. Also, I keep a blank notebook around to write and note anything that comes to my mind.

However, writing for me was very causal, random. I had no goals, no intentions, no obligations to write better, more fluent. My writing had no structure. It was like all over the place about everything and anything.

It was not a passion that I wanted to do every single day. I was writing to focus, to be more aware of my mind, to remember things.

Over time, during my undergraduate studies my writing skills significantly improved. Not because that I intentionally worked for it. It improved because, I needed to write constantly to survive in my major, political science and international relations (IR). I needed to express the concepts I learned, synthesize ideas, and show critical thinking skills in the short amount of time given in the exams to get good grades.

Reading improves writing.

There exists a heavy emphasis on history and theory in Political Science&IR…

--

--

Buket Mat
ILLUMINATION

Istanbul // Barcelona 🧿 Flaneur I write about personal growth, business & culture. Reach out: buketmat@gmail.com