How Many Books Will You Read Before You Die?

Giovanni Foglia
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readOct 7, 2023

--

Image generated with DALL-E 3

Some of us are avid readers, some read only while on holiday, some read exclusively if they have to, and some don’t read at all. This is all fine.

But I know for a fact that navigated readers at some point in their lives will eventually wonder:

How many more books will I be able to read before I die?

I found this to be a common question among readers, as there are plenty of books but not much time to read them. For the last couple of years, I managed, most of the time, to read at least one book per week, but I noticed that my reading list kept growing and growing to embarrassing levels. I feel like there is an infinite amount of books to choose from and often I am unsure as to which book to pick up next. What I also realize is that time is passing, therefore I know that there is a number hidden somewhere, that keeps decreasing every time I finish a book.
So, in the last days, I decided to do some math and try to work out how much will I be able to read before …. I die.

After scouring the web for some data, I discovered that the world’s average reading speed is around 250 words per minute.
You can check your reading speed here for free

--

--

Giovanni Foglia
ILLUMINATION

Independent ☝🏻 Provocative 📢 Curious 🔎 Available to work as a Freelance ✍🏼 For collaborations email me at: giovannifoglia259@gmail.com