ON MINIMALISM

How Matt D’Avella Stole 80% of My Stuff — It Is the Best Thing That Has Ever Happened to Me

On Minimalism and Intentional Living

Matteo DaVerona
ILLUMINATION
Published in
5 min readFeb 29, 2024

--

https://www.firstinspire.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/02/matt-e1612137734781.jpg

I take a second blanket because I am cold. The fire is already burning but it hasn’t heated the room yet. The TV is on and I scroll through Netflix, looking for something to watch, because there is nothing else to do here.

It is December 2019 and I went into the mountains in North Italy with my parents and brother, to spend the New Year’s break here. We have an apartment in a little village, that still belongs to my grandparents. However, there is not much to do here, but read, go on walks or watch Netflix.

I chose a documentary titled “Minimalism”. And while the story and philosophy of “less is more” unfolds, the room heats up and I feel warmer. This documentary is the starting point of my journey into minimalism and will set the tone for the year in front of me. The year, in which our world was completely changed.

My journey into Minimalism

--

--

Matteo DaVerona
ILLUMINATION

Student and Writer | Sharing my self-improvement journey | Ghost and Copywriter | https://linktr.ee/matteodaverona