How Medium Highlights Inspire My Social Media Posts (With a Little Help From Zapier)

I let Medium readers tell me what resonates

Anna Burgess Yang
ILLUMINATION

--

a light bulb over a computer, pop art
Image created via Midjourney

As a creator, I know that I have to show up consistently on social platforms. I publish on LinkedIn almost every day and tweet several times per day. I use Buffer to schedule my content but the burden is still on me to write interesting stuff.

Sure, I come up with a lot of net new content, but I am also always looking for ways to repurpose my own work. And I’ve found a great way to do this with passages that Medium readers highlight in my articles.

I figure that if someone on Medium takes the time to highlight something I’ve written, it was interesting. That small snippet is worth resharing, either as a tweet or a post on LinkedIn (or both!)

I’ve even streamlined this process by using Zapier. Zapier automates actions between different apps, using a simple “recipe” or “Zap”: If X happens in App #1, take Y action in App #2 (and maybe also take Z action in App #3 if you get into more complex Zaps).

Medium is not an available Zapier app, but I’ve found a workaround using the email notifications I receive from Medium for highlighted passages.

1. Automatically label Medium email…

--

--

Anna Burgess Yang
ILLUMINATION

Freelance Writer. Operations Advice for Solopreneurs. Career pivots are fun. 🎉 https://start.annabyang.com/