How My Breast Cancer Providers Have Compromised My Life

My personal experience as a nurse and patient on the Texas Medicaid MBCC PRogram

Christina Vaughn: Nurse, Writer, Creator.
BeingWell
Published in
15 min readJun 1, 2021

--

National Cancer Institute on Unsplash.com

Even as a clinician, my Breast Cancer Medicaid status has drastically altered my healthcare delivery and outcome, and I am not the only one.

January 7th of this year, I had a 3D Mammogram to rule out breast cancer based on its strong history on my mother’s side.

January 14th, I received a very apprehensive call from my nurse practitioner giving me the diagnosis of Invasive Lobular Carcinoma of the right breast. She was trite and not forthcoming with me concerning my questions regarding the diagnosis. Normally, this provider was exceedingly kind and communicated openly. I had no idea what transpired to change her attitude.

During this short, life-changing conversation, something from my provider’s tone resonated within my spirit that the common human experience with illness and disease that I was about to encounter would include an unexpected dark component.

I realize now, that the tone and hesitancy in her voice most likely conveyed her own understanding that my insurance status would compromise/complicate my outcome.

--

--

Christina Vaughn: Nurse, Writer, Creator.
BeingWell

Editor: The Shortform Publication. Published Author: Of Death and Brokenness. Medical Research Writer. Topics include wellness, mental health, addiction (+)