How Not To Chase the Applause of Others

And instead, focus on internal validation

Letters from E.K.
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Mike from Pexels

Unpopular opinion: Your internal applause needs to be loudest.

One of the most dangerous things to rely on is others’ validation. People have their own subjective opinions and ideas, and they change with time. But many of us fall into the trap of trying to make everyone agree with our life choices.

When I was younger, I used to try to convince everyone to agree with every single decision I’d make for my life. This resulted in me reconsidering the directions I was sure of and feeling lost. But this also taught me that I needed to take the wheel into my hands, and rotate my life according to my inner compass. Along this process, I’ve discovered ways of hearing my inner applause louder than outside noise.

Do you also want not to chase the applause of others?

There are 4 steps to follow:

1-Observe your need for validation

2-Recognize the route you wish to follow

3-Build your internal feed-back system

4-Learn to separate support from a permission

“Climb the mountain, not so the world can see…

--

--

Letters from E.K.
ILLUMINATION

Your weekly pen pal (Life and Psychology) ·To support me, you can join Medium using my referral link https://medium.com/@lettersfromEK/membership