How Songwriting Has Helped Me Grow As a Writer

My writing process and how I’ve never looked back.

Noah Nelson
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by MORAN on Unsplash.

Sometimes the best moments in life come when least expected.

At a young age, I was singing everything I could: popular songs on the radio, classic hits, theme songs to television shows. Before I knew it, I was changing the words around and making up my own to the melody.

My parents thought it was normal. But when they asked other parents if their kids did it too, they would all say no, my kid doesn’t do that too. During junior high school, I began writing lines of poetry, or in better words, verses of songs. Whenever an idea hit, I would write it down. And that habit has never changed.

It wasn’t until high school when I wrote my first one. Honestly, I don’t remember what it was about or what it was called, but I wrote a few of them. I know they had to have been awful because otherwise, I would remember them. I kept going. I continued to write lines or full songs whenever an idea struck me. Sometimes I forced it, but most of the time, it all came naturally.

In high school, I wrote a song about my hometown. It’s still one of my favorite songs I’ve ever written. And thus, the passion was born. I never planned writing sessions or how much I was going to write in a day or week. I just…

--

--

Noah Nelson
ILLUMINATION

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign Alum | Author of “Life: A Collection of Short Stories” and “Dana and Me” | Featured Writer on ILLUMINATION (23x).