How Strava Got Me Moving More, and Cycling More!

Nilesh Dilip Bane
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readJan 11, 2022
Strava connects with multiple fitness bands and can also be used directly on your phone
Photo by Tim Foster on Unsplash

For a year after my knee ligament surgery, I wasn’t allowed weights. However, after 3 months of my surgery, I was permitted to cycle, swim or run at a moderate pace.

I chose cycling, simply coz I wanted to have a cycle, and also thought it would help build some of my lost muscles. Just some! I didn’t have much expectation from cycling back then nor was I sure if I would even ride much. I wasn’t even sure if I could ride my cycle home, from the store 😄

So, I bought a bicycle. And obviously with my uncertainties, and also being informed of the cycle thefts, chose a not so expensive one.

However, right after the first few pedals, I felt confident that I can get this thing home. What I realised was, that if you have ever ridden a motorbike, you already have the required road sense for cycling too. What you need to do is just pedal!

I went for another 2 km test ride that night and when I got home, I was checking my Apple watch if I could track my bike’s total kilometres. It was tracking, but on a yearly basis which didn’t please me much. So I searched other available apps and got across Strava, only to realise later after a few days that it’s one of the widely used fitness apps.

Strava offered the feature to track my bike’s total kilometres which I would someday thought of bragging about. Hats off to my anticipation when I had only ridden 2 kilometres back then 😄

On day 3, I rode 6 km and felt it too much! The next day I somehow managed to climb my first flyover. This was a boost and within a week, to my surprise, I did a 35 km ride to a nearby countryside.

I was already addicted by then, not just to cycling but more to the statistics that Strava showed me. You get virtual trophies for all levels of challenges starting with something as less as 250 minutes in 20 days to cycling 1250 km a month. The 30 hours of activity a month is my current favourite.

I started finding reasons for cycling. I was happy when one store told me that they would charge for delivering the product but will give it at no extra cost if I collect it myself. If it wouldn’t have been for Strava stats, I would have probably not felt the same.

My weekly cardio changed from indoor treadmill to outdoor cycling. Before every long ride, I felt a dopamine boost that Yeah! this would give me the kilometres, hours and badges today 😄

Test
Photo by Author

Numbers do play magic and Strava seems to knows it very well!

Hooked to Strava, to add to my numbers, I started choosing activities whenever I could.

Earlier, I never gave a thought of walking home from a bus stop or train station, probably coz most others we see around, don’t. I used to take my motorbike even to the nearby ATM.

Now I cycle or walk for almost anything that falls within my range and talking of my range, it has improved now to a good 15 kilometres one way and 25 kilometres occasionally, and I am sure it will keep growing.

Initially, I hesitated on the thought of riding for more than 10 km and that too not for leisure, thinking that people including my friends and family would consider me crazy or broke 😄 as 20 km on a cycle in Mumbai can be overwhelming to picture.

I walked as a tourist while sightseeing in Delhi covering around 15 km.

I don’t skip gym that often nowadays as it gives me a good 30 minutes daily.

One other activity that I never thought of was climbing stairs. Well, Strava tracks this too! Need I say any more! 😊

Check my other story to know the 7 reasons that make cycling much more fun

--

--

Nilesh Dilip Bane
ILLUMINATION

Positive perception! Strives for self-improvement & being useful, being fit unexceptionally in daily hustle, Ordinary cyclist, loves reading, coffee, cricket